Collard Greens and Lentils

NICOLEPLAYTOY - WIN_20140926_131244 (2)

This has got to be one of my most favorite Diet Comfort Soul Foods.  When dieting we always have moments when we fill like giving up and throwing in the towel.  When I feel like this I go straight to this meal,  and after eating a bowl I fill 100% better.  I recall the last time I made this dish, my Husband came in with a smile on his face, and told me he could smell the wonderful aroma all the way down the street(He thought I was cooking him a gourmet meal)  Well his smile quickly turned to a frown when he saw that it was only my Collard and Lentils.  I’m sure there are many ways to make this healthy dish, but here is my rendition.

  • Bacon
  • Garlic
  • Onions
  • 1-2 Cups Dry Lentils
  • 1 Bag of Old Glory Collard Greens
  • Shredded Carrots
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper for Season

Sauté Garlic and Onions in large pot with Olive Oil, for about 3 mins.  Next cut bacon in small pieces, and add to the pot with the Garlic and Onions.  Once the Bacon has cooked, add 6 Cups of water to the pot and bring to a boil.  Once the water is boiling add in your Collard Greens, and place top on and let simmer on Med-High for 30 mins to 1 hr.  Once your Collard Greens are tender, add in your Lentils and Carrots.  Add in additional water if needed let simmer for 15 more mins, or until lentils are tender and done, and VOILA, you have a healthy meal that covers all of your needs.  It also makes you feel really good after eating a bowl.  A pot of this will go a really long way😋 Hope you enjoy, I know I will.

2 thoughts on “Collard Greens and Lentils

  1. Pingback: hCG1234 Day 2 | Soulfoodmomma

Leave a Reply

